"Active Citizens for Energy Independent Municipalities" project was presented in the Municipalities of Dryanovo and Tryavna.

The leading organization of the project is the Association of Bulgarian Cities and Regions ABGR, and its partners are the Institute for Entrepreneurship, Sustainable Development and Innovation (IPURI), the Bulgarian Energy and Mining Forum (BEMF) and B16 Urban Energy AS, Oslo, Norway.

The main goal of the project is to raise civic awareness in the municipalities of Panagyurishte, Kostinbrod, Tryavna and Dryanovo and energy democracy, through collective action to support the energy transition.

The events were attended by representatives of the municipal administrations, residents and media from both municipalities, the chairman of ABGR - Mr. Ergin Emin, the chairman of BEMF - Mr. Ivan Hinovski, the program director of IESDI - Mrs. Cveta Dimitrova and the project manager - Mrs. Ralitsa Marinova.

The topic is extremely relevant and the project started with great interest from the residents.

A survey is currently being conducted on the awareness of the local population about the energy transition in the four municipalities participating in the project. The survey is available on the official websites of the Municipalities and distributed through the local media.

On February 16, 2022, the project will be presented in the Municipality of Panagyurishte.

Energy communities or energy cooperatives are a group of people who come together and co-finance the construction of a system for the supply of energy from renewable energy sources. Participants in the community can be households, municipalities, enterprises.

Energy communities located in the territory of the European Union have the right to produce, store, consume and sell the electricity they have produced. Citizens participating in an energy community are called "energy citizens" or "prosumers" (both energy producers and consumers).

The project "Active Citizens for Energy Independent Municipalities" is implemented with the financial support of Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway under the Active Citizens Fund of Bulgaria within the Financial Mechanism of the European Economic Area.


16A, Patriarh Evtimiy Blvd.
1142 Sofia, Bulgaria

+359 877 838 177
 This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

IESDI Burgas

Burgas 8000,
"Tzar Samuil" Str. 11, et.1

+359 884 545 400
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

© 2021 IESDI. All rights reserved / Development by Headway